University of Tasmania Law School

University of Tasmania Law School

The University of Tasmania (UTAS) offers undergraduate law degrees through University of Tasmania School of Law at their Sandy Bay (Hobart) campus.

UTAS Law School Entry Requirements

If you’re a high school leaver or haven’t been to university before, an undergraduate Bachelor of Laws is for you. University graduates can study a postgraduate Juris Doctor degree. To learn more about the different types of law degrees, see our Law Degrees Explained page.

UTAS operates on a two semester calendar  A full-time study load is 6-8 subjects per year.

For information about the Bachelor of Laws course information and typical study pattern, click here.

For information about the Combined Bachelor of Law course information and typical study pattern, visit the University of Tasmania website and explore the various combined law courses available. Information can be found here.

Indigenous Support Centre 

The RIAWUNNA Centre for Aboriginal Education is the Indigenous Support Centre at the University of Tasmania.

Law school contacts

Aboriginal Student Advisers

College of Arts, Law and Education


Indigenous tutoring program

UTAS operates the RIAWUNNA Tutoring Program for all First Nations students.  

Please see the UTAS Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scholarships Application Guide 2022 for all scholarship information and application processes. 


We are here to help. Get in touch and we’ll do our best to respond soon.