We’re supporting the next generation of First Nations law-makers

This year Ngalaya has:

We are also working to:

  • partner with law firms to create new Nglaya Cadetship positions; and
  • regionalise and expand Ngalaya’s operations across NSW.

We’re educating the community on Indigenous legal issues

Ngalaya is working to increase its role in community legal education and CPD learning. We want to support First Nations lawyers and academics to educate the community about the legal issues affecting First Peoples.

We’re advocating for substantive law reform

Ngalaya is actively seeking to partner with individuals, organisations and law firms to assist in drafting submissions for law reform in areas including:

  • criminal law
  • intellectual property
  • environmental law
  • cultural heritage
  • self-determination
  • land rights and native title
  • consumer and insurance law
  • employment law
  • housing law
  • administrative law

Ngalaya is also offering its services to law firms and universities to contract Ngalaya for research work to support publications and ARC projects. Research work will be conducted by First Nations lawyers and law students.

Get involved with Ngalaya

All First Nations lawyers, law students and law graduates are eligible to join Ngalaya.

Ngalaya is open to partnerships with corporate partners, law firms, and other organisations to provide new opportunities for its members.

Our Team

Jason O'Neil (Wiradjuri)

Jason O'Neil (Wiradjuri)

Chairperson, BA(Hons) LLB (UNSW)

Jason is a lawyer researching Indigenous Self-Determination at Nura GIli UNSW, and working at the Public Interest Advocacy Centre. Jason became Chairperson of Ngalaya in 2018.

Mark Holden (Dhunghutti)

Mark Holden (Dhunghutti)

Director, LLB(Hons) (UTS)

Mark is a Solicitor at the Financial Rights Legal Centre. He previously worked at Legal Aid NSW, the NSW Environmental Defenders Office and the ACCC. Mark is a former Chairperson of Ngalaya, and Director since 2012.

Kate Sinclair (Dharug)

Kate Sinclair (Dharug)

Director, BA LLB (UNSW)

Kate is a Law Graduate working as a Paralegal at Allens. She has been a Director of Ngalaya since 2017.